Unplugged

by Elizabeth G.

Since January 14th, I have been without internet. Since March 6th, without phone. I’m now back on the grid.

But I sort of miss the peace of not being connected. I miss having an excuse to take lots of time to get back to people. “I’ll have to get back to you when I get to a Starbucks or the Library. If it’s an emergency, leave a message on my work phone.”

I work on the computer all day, and getting home and not having one around is refreshing. Just plunk down with a book, or crappy local TV and chill. No phones, no texts, no nothing.

I still don’t have a cell phone. I don’t think I’ll get another smart-phone for a while. It’s hard to turn it off, to say “I’m not answering that text or email until tomorrow.” The sense of urgency when you’re plugged in 24/7 is exhausting, and you don’t know it until you let it go.

Still. It’s nice to be able to check your email, or get a hold of someone on the road. I don’t think I’ll stay land-line-locked forever. But for now, it’s a little slice of peace.

