Insurance Woes

by Elizabeth G.

This year, I lost my health insurance coverage.  Now, I had been previously covered under my father’s health care.  As he is a self-employed contractor, he can change healthcare companies if we’re not satisfied with the one we have.  Unfortunately, the new company has decided that I am uninsurable.

Why you might ask?  So far, the only information I have been able to obtain is that it’s the result of some information that is in a file from a doctor I saw one time for half an hour 4 years ago.  I’ve called several times, with no response as to WHAT it is and if there’s anything I can do about it.

I have no chronic illnesses.  I’m on only one medication that is affordable enough that I can still buy it out of pocket, so it’s not something that would be a “burden” on an insurance company.  I’m not at-risk for anything expensive or difficult to take care of as a result of family history.  I don’t smoke, do drugs, or drink excessively.  I’m a 22-year-old, healthy, low-risk female.

At this point, I’m looking into purchasing my own insurance for emergency care.  I’m not nearly so worried about doctor’s co-pays or prescription coverage.  I’m worried about what happens if I slip and break my ankle on the sidewalk, or get food poisoning, or anything that might require care in a hospital.  How much does a cast cost out of pocket?  Usually something in the ballpark of $20,000.  That would really put the kibosh on saving for a down-payment for a home.  (In fact, that WOULD be a down payment on a home.)

 

I have thus come to the conclusion that being an adult SUCKS and I want to be a college kid again who doesn’t have to think about these things.  At least I have dental care now?

